While any vehicular accident can have severe consequences, those involving trucks can be catastrophic depending on the type of vehicles involved, such as a semi-truck or delivery truck. Contact a Rialto truck accident lawyer if you were recently injured by any type of truck, commercial, or otherwise.
With an experienced attorney’s assistance, you could claim a variety of damages that help pay the medical costs related to your injuries. It is also possible to claim damages based on the mental and emotional trauma you suffered following the accident. An injury lawyer could explain the compensation you could collect in detail to help you understand more about your claim. En Español
Attorneys cite numerous reasons for truck-related collisions, including:
Depending on the accident, involved parties can sustain numerous injuries, including burns, cuts and lacerations, head trauma, brain injuries, spinal cord injuries, broken bones, muscle tears, loss of limbs, soft tissue harm, and whiplash.
According to California Vehicle Code Division 10, Chapter 1, Section 20008, drivers involved in vehicular accidents must furnish a written report to the applicable police department or California Highway Patrol within 24 hours if the crash involved serious injuries or fatalities. They must also report accidents to the California DMV within 10 days in light of injuries or deaths, or if the property damage totaled $1,000 or more. In terms of filing legal claims with an attorney’s help, those in truck crashes must do so within two years according to CCP § 335.1. For accidents involving government employees, such as injuries sustained while riding public buses, claims must be filed within six months as per CCP § 911.2. Drivers must report collisions within three years if accidents involved property damage according to CCP § 338.
Reporting the accident strengthens the claim because it provides evidence of the crash. Any photos and videos of the incident provide further evidence that helps a legal professional establish fault in a truck crash, as do witness statements and medical reports.
California does not place caps on personal injury damages, including those for truck collisions. The state limits non-economic damages in medical malpractice claims only. Since California adheres to pure comparative negligence rules, plaintiffs can collect damages even if they were partially responsible for the accidents. While modified comparative negligence rules approve plaintiff damages as long as they were not 50 percent or more responsible for truck crashes, legal professionals note that pure comparative negligence rules award damages regardless of damage percentages.
Avoid statute of limitation issues by scheduling a consultation with a Rialto truck accident lawyer as soon as possible. Depending on your case’s circumstances, you could recoup damages that help you manage daily life during the recovery process.
Get in touch with us today to set up a meeting with one of our talented team members.
Fields Marked With An “*” Are Required
We Do have live operators 24/7 (English & Spanish)